• The goals of the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States are fraternal, patriotic, historical, and educational;To assist worthy comrades;
  • To perpetuate the memory and history of our dead, and to assist their widows and children;
  • To maintain true allegiance to the Government of the United States of America, and fidelity to its Constitution and laws;
  • To foster true patriotism; to maintain and preserve and defend the United States from all her enemies whomsoever.


“Honor the Dead by Helping the Living.”

VFW Post 76, is “the oldest VFW Post in Texas,” along with Department and National Headquarters’ help to protect veterans’ entitlements but, as an organization, it works closely within the community through various service, safety, and educational programs.

To contact the VFW Post 76 Commander, please email us at:


VFW Post 76 Leadership
2020 Post Officers and Programs

Post Commander: Pete Ramos

1st Vice Commander: Ruben Canales

2d Vice Commander: Alexander Saucedo

Quartermaster: Paul Garza

Chaplain: Richard Cortez

Judge Advocate: Paul D. Barkhurst

Post Surgeon: Luis Pruneda

1st Year Trustee: Norbert Hart

2nd Year Trustee: Phillip Moreno

3rd Year Trustee: Alejandro R. Morales

Adjutant: George Rodriguez

Sam Houston VFW Post 76 House Committee

5th Year Term: Mario Castilleja

4th Year Term:

3rd Year:

2nd Year Term:

1st Year Term: Albert (Abby) Alfaro

1st Year Trustee: Norbert Hart

2nd Year Trustee: Philip Moreno

3rd Year Trustee: Alejandro R. Morales

5th Year Term: Mario Castilleja

4th Year Term: Alexander Saucedo

Post Service Officer: Mario Castilleja

Fiesta Committee Chair: Ignacio “Nacho” Castilleja

Vendors Coordinator: Ignacio “Nacho” Castilleja

Building Committee: Harold Fleischer III

Youth Committee Chair: Johnny Ornelaz

Funeral, Reunion & Membership Reception Committee Chair: Ignacio Castilleja

Bingo Committee Chair:

Safety Committee Chair:

Honor Guard Captain:

Post Steward: Ricardo Garza

Post 76 Web Master: John Santos

2019-2020 Texas State VFW officers

Texas State Commander:  Keith King

Texas Sate Senior Vice Commander:  Dick Shawver

Texas State Junior Vice Commander:  Norman Macey